UCL retains mooting shield after trumping Birkbeck

University College London (UCL) has successfully defended its long-standing title as London University Mooting Shield (LUMS) champion after beating Birkbeck College at the finals yesterday.

Four students from UCL proved their vocal dexterity to the judges and protected the institution’s reign as LUMS champion after winning the first final in April 2008.

Winning team member Elizabeth Day said: “It was a little nerve wracking but I’m so glad that we’ve been able to preserve our title. Mooting is a fantastic way of developing your advocacy skills, especially if you want to go on to be a barrister.”

It took the two teams five months of mooting their way through several qualifying rounds to get to the final stage, a mock court in the auditorium of co-sponsor Allen & Overy.

Full-time mum and law student Donna Driscoll, who was representing Birkbeck College at the finals, said: “We hold down jobs and study law in the evening so trying to fit it all in has been a bit of a challenge. But despite the sleepless nights it’s been a brilliant experience.”

As well as Day, the winning team from UCL included law students Aathmika Kularatnam, Jason Shardlow-Wrest and Simon Tysoe.

Meanwhile, Birkbeck’s side include Driscoll, Diane Jackson, John Stables and William van Zwanenberg.

LUMS was developed in 2007 by a group of students from eight participating London universities, including King’s College, London School of Economics; London South Bank University, and the School of Oriental and African Studies.