Bombing Syria: how did Parliament’s lawyers vote?

Last night, MPs endorsed bombing Islamic State in Syria by 397 votes to 223.

Four Tornados based at RAF Akrotiri in Cyprus have already carried out air strikes in the eastern part of the country.

After a ten-hour debate, here’s how Parliament’s lawyer MPs voted. Among the 66 Labour MPs who voted for bombing and against their leader Jeremy Corbyn were Harriet Harman and Chukka Umunna.



Alan Mak (Havant)

Alberto Costa (South Leicestershire)

Alex Chalk (Cheltenham)

Charlie Elphicke (Dover)

Dominic Grieve QC (Beaconsfield)

Gareth Johnson (Dartford)

Guy Opperman (Hexham)

Helen Grant (Maidstone and The Weald)

Jake Berry (Rossendale and Darwen)

James Berry (Kingston and Surbiton)

James Brokenshire (Old Bexley and Sidcup)

James Wharton (Stockton South)

John Stevenson (Carlisle)

Jonathan Djanogly (Huntingdon)

Lucy Frazer QC (South East Cambridgeshire)

Marcus Jones (Nuneaton)

Michael Ellis (Northampton North)

Michael Tomlinson (Mid Dorset and North Poole)

Nicky Morgan (Loughborough)

Rehman Chishti (Gillingham and Rainham)

Robert Buckland QC (South Swindon)

Seema Kennedy (South Ribble)

Shailesh Vara (North West Cambridgeshire)

Stephen Barclay (North East Cambridgeshire)

Suella Fernandes (Fareham)

Victoria Atkins (Louth and Horncastle)

Victoria Prentis (Banbury)

Will Quince (Colchester)


Chuka Umunna (Streatham)

Harriet Harman (Camberwell and Peckham)

Liberal Democrats

Alistair Carmichael (Orkney and Shetland)




Andy Slaughter (Hammersmith)

Catherine McKinnell (Newcastle upon Tyne North)

David Lammy (Tottenham)

Emily Thornberry (Islington South and Finsbury)

Ian Lucas (Wrexham)

Jo Stevens (Cardiff Central)

Jonathan Reynolds (Stalybridge and Hyde)

Karl Turner (Kingston upon Hull East)

Keir Starmer QC (Holborn and St Pancras)

Nick Thomas-Symonds (Torfaen)

Richard Burgon (Leeds East)

Rob Marris (Wolverhampton South West)

Sadiq Khan (Tooting)

Shabana Mahmood (Birmingham, Ladywood)

Valerie Vaz (Walsall South)

Yasmin Qureshi (Bolton South East)

Scottish National Party

Joanna Cherry QC (Edinburgh South West)

Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh (Ochil and South Perthshire)