Attorney-General’s pro bono awards: the shortlist

The College of Law (CoL) has lost its five-year spot on the Attorney General’s Pro Bono Awards shortlist for best contribution by a law school.

Dominic Greives

Dominic Greives

Instead, this year BPP Law School, Northumbria University, Sheffield Hallam University, University of Hull and University of Manchester will compete for the trophy.

The short-listed candidates will be introduced to the Attorney General Dominic Grieve on 27 March at the House of Lords when the winners will be announced.

The three other awards available are for best individual, best team and new pro bono activity (see the full shortlist below).

Last year the candidate that scooped the best individual category won a one-week stint in Canada with LexisNexis.

The judges this year included Warwick professor of legal education Julian Webb, LexisNexis head of academic development Thomas Laidlaw, editor of Isla Grant and vice-president of the Law Society Lucy Scott-Moncrieff.

The full shortlist:

Best Contribution by an Individual Student

  • Andrianna Yianni, BPP Law School
  • Athina Ouranidou, Birmingham City University
  • Brittany Roger, BPP Holborn
  • Farhan Asghar, University of Leicester
  • Luke Grimes, University of Exeter

Best Contribution by a Law School

  • BPP Law School Birmingham
  • Northumbria University
  • Sheffield Hallam University
  • University of Hull
  • University of Manchester

Best Contribution by a Team of Students

  • Human Rights Unit
  • KCL Probono Society
  • NHS Continuing Healthcare Scheme
  • Strathclyde Law Clinic Executive Committee
  • The Litigants in Person Support Service

Best New Pro Bono Activity

  • BPP Law School Immigration Tribunal
  • County Court Advice Desk
  • KLC
  • Vocalise
  • York Law School Clinic